About Kumbo Diocese

The Catholic Diocese of Kumbo (Latin: Dioecesis Kumboensis) in the Ecclesiastical Province of Bamenda, Cameroon, was erected by Pope St John Paul II on Thursday, 18 March 1982, with territory taken from the then Diocese (now Archdiocese) of Bamenda. It is a diocese of the Roman rite of the Catholic Church. It is a suffragan diocese of the Metropolitan See of Bamenda along with the Catholic Dioceses of Buea, Mamfe and Kumba.

The Diocese currently has six (6) main pastoral divisions (Deaneries). These are further divided into Parishes/Pastoral Zones. As of December 2018, there are twenty-eight (28) Parishes and nine (9) Pastoral Zones which should become Parishes in the near future.

The Pioneer Bishop of Kumbo was Msgr Cornelius Fontem Esua, now the Archbishop of Bamenda. The current Bishop is Msgr George Nkuo, since 8 July 2006.

The diocese covers a surface area of 8,600 sq. k.m., with a population estimate of 867,000 in 2013. The Catholic population is 19.6%. Other Christian groups in the area include Presbyterians, Baptists, and some Evangelical and Pentecostal Communities. Other Religions present are Islam and African Traditional Religion.

It covers two (2) out of seven (7) administrative Divisions of the North West Region of Cameroon, namely Bui and Donga-Mantung Divisions (with a little portion of Boyo Division). The seat of the Diocese is in Kumbo, some 110 k.m. from Bamenda, the Regional Headquarters, and 70 k.m. from Nkambe, the administrative Headquarters of Donga-Mantung Division. The Diocese shares boundaries to the North and North West with the Federal Republic of Nigeria; to the East and North East with the Western Region of Cameroon; to the South East with Ngohketunja Division, to the South with Boyo Division; and to the South West and West with Menchum Division.

There are 11 ethnic groups within the Diocese: The Nso’, Oku and Noni Tribes in Bui Division; and the Wimbum, Mbembe, Jukum, Nchanti, Mfumte, Yamba, Mbaw and Mambila Tribes in Donga-Mantung Division. Each of these tribes has its own language and dialects.

Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception is honoured as the Patron of the Diocese.

Our Bishop

Most Rev. Msgr. George Nkuo is the second residential Bishop of the Diocese of Kumbo. He was appointed by Pope Benedict XVI in 2006.


Here you can upcoming diocesan events and programs of the Kumbo Diocese. 

Pastoral Offices

Trying to find our pastoral offices? Check out the different offices here and the persons incharge.

Find a Mass

Are you wondering where you could attend mass? Take a look at some of our parishes and their mass time.

Our Parishes

We six (6) main pastoral divisions. Divided into Parishes/Pastoral Zones. As of December 2019, there are twenty-eight (28) Parishes and nine (9) Pastoral Zones.


See our Diocese in pictures. From our historic buildings to our hospitals, schools and beautiful historic sites.